top of page

Thoughts: The night after Donald Trump was elected the 45th president of the Uniter States.

As I sit here the night after Donald Trump was elected the next president of the United States, I feel compelled to share what I’ve witnessed today after the news broke early yesterday morning.

I can’t say I’m shocked by the result because I’m not sure how I would have felt by either outcome. Furthermore, I don’t deem it necessary to go on a rant about either of the candidates because that will solve absolutely nothing. Instead I want to talk about how the results of the election impacted my peers.

Today, I showed up to my political communication class 10 minutes late. Before I knocked on the door to have one of my classmates be disrupted by my lateness and let me in, I knew I would walk into a discussion among my classmates talking about their feelings on the outcome of the election. What I did not expect was to see one of my classmates standing at the front of the room voicing her feelings to the class. Though I was not shocked by the election of Trump, I was shocked to see how deeply this was already affecting my classmates.

One by one, each student either stood up or went to the front of the room to talk about the election overall and how the results affected them personally. One gentleman, who I’ve had various classes with in the past, walked up the podium at the front of the room and immediately I could tell he was visibly upset about the outcome. As he began to speak, he shared with us that he has family members who are disabled while he fought back his tears… then my eyes started to well up. I couldn’t believe how deeply this man was hurt by the outcome of a presidential election. I truly didn’t expect people to feel this hurt over a president winning an election. I don’t know if I was just being naïve or whatever you want to call my shock, but I wasn’t prepared for what happened in that classroom this morning.

Some of my other classmates exuded positivity when they spoke as well as shared positive quotes to uplift the room, which made me feel like… wow, what a class act my classmates are. I found myself admiring their bravery and still admiring their courage to get up and share how they were feeling.

Another classmate walked up to the podium just as the gentleman did earlier and as she began to speak she only got a few words out before she started sobbing talking about how she fears for her life because Trump won the election. She is an African American woman feeling defeated and feeling like her life doesn’t matter, and she’s continuing to talk and sob, I’m stunned yet again. I felt so much pain inside watching her cry and fear for what this may mean for her future. I couldn’t hold my tears back either. I felt an excessive amount of compassion for her in that moment and still because no one should ever feel as though his or her life doesn’t matter because it does matter. She matters.

After everyone spoke, the professor ended the class early, starting with new material on Monday. As I walked out of the room, I was so overwhelmed with emotion realizing how deeply the people in my community and people I care about are hurting because of Trump winning this election. It hurts me to know that they are hurting this bad and feeling defeated. They shouldn’t feel defeated. Instead, they should feel empowered to be the change this country needs. Be the voice and be the change. There is no need to dwell on this decision as hard it may seem to accept right now, dwelling on things will never solve anything and neither will protesting or spreading negativity. Though it may seem like the end of the world to some or even many, it is NOT the end of the world. But, it is a CHANCE to become educated about politics and be proactive within our own communities. The more we become educated and proactive for the things we believe in is when change begins to happen. It is not going to happen with a protest or nasty Facebook post, but it is going to happen if you remain positive and love one another.

In addition to all of this, a former classmate and former coworker of mine… one in my hometown and one in Chicago posted video coverage of hateful Trump protests ensuing in the streets of both cities. It’s honestly disturbing to see people feeling as though they need to protest because of the outcome. What is protesting going to do? Nothing. Yes, maybe you’ll get some exposure on TV because, of course, the media is going to go crazy over things like protests or maybe it makes you feel a little better inside to scream at the top of your lungs "F*** Trump!" Regardless, PROTESTING IS NOT THE ANSWER. The people of the United States spoke and Donald Trump is INDEED our next president. Neither action nor person will change that and I say that with the utmost respect to those hurting at this time.

In closing, my suggestion to all those feeling overwhelmed with sadness tonight is please don’t give up on your self-worth, each other or this country. Be the change that you want to see in this country. Wipe away your tears and stand tall for you are not alone in this world. Do what is right. Hug. Love. Laugh. Be kind. Be you. Be a friend. Be everything you want this country to be. Don’t feel defeated and don’t feel as though your life doesn’t matter because it does. Fight for what you believe in but don’t fight a fight you won’t win. Fight because your voice does matter. Fight with kindness and love, not hate. Hate only spreads more hate. Love only spreads more love. Remember that.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page